New Orleans Hotel History
On the National Register of Historic Places, Le Pavillon Hotel boasts a rich and storied past. First open in 1907, after a 2-year construction on the corner of Poydras and Baronne, the 10-story building was originally called the New Denechaud Hotel and run by Mr. Justin Denechaud. The thoroughly modern structure was built to withstand fires, and each of its guest accommodations offered a view. In 1913, new owners renamed it the Hotel DeSoto. It became a popular destination for visiting dignitaries, and during the Prohibition Era, an underground passage stretching about a block and a half to another building was put to use when discreet exits by politicians and other well-knowns were needed.
From 1928 to 1948, the Penthouse was used as the home of radio station WDSU. In the 1970s, new owners again changed the name, this time to Le Pavillon, in homage to New Orleans' French roots. A renovation began including a hunt for fabulous European antique furniture, art and decorative gems, including the stunning Czechoslovakian crystal chandeliers and matching scones in the lobby. Some furnishings and the marble railings of the staircase are from the Grand Hotel in Paris.